Daily Prompt: Breakthrough

via Daily Prompt: Breakthrough

Breakthrough: Jumping in with both feet!

Public speaking is something that many people try to avoid.  I am not necessarily shy, however, I prefer writing over speaking any day.  Writing allows me time to delete and rewrite.  Writing allows time to think and rethink and think over and over think.  Speaking -especially public speaking- requires boldness and surety and confidence.  Once the words leave your lips, there’s no un-doing. there’s no delete and re-speak.  So you better get it right the first time.  Public speaking is just NOT my thing.

So I joined the Toastmasters club.  and volunteered the first opportunity I got…yes, I jumped right in.  This “jumping” was my breakthrough.  I am one of those who dread being called on. one of the ones who pray silently to suddenly go invisible.  However, this “jumping” surprised me as well as those that I was standing in front of.  It wasn’t expected.  The “new girl”?   Yes, and turns out I wasn’t as afraid as I thought.  I realized that once I got into it, the words just flowed.   The best way to overcome your fear is to face it.  So I did.  Don’t get me wrong, I still have a long way to go.  The good thing is I took that first step/jump.  This was my breakthrough.

Leave a Reply

