“The Shack”

Good morning all!

So I read this book some years ago.  It was introduced to me by a friend of mine who lost her father to some senseless murder in Orlando.  I believe he was a cop.  At any rate, going through that process was not easy for her -to say the least.  Somehow, she came upon the book “The Shack”.  She read it, loved it, then recommended it to me. I read it, loved it, recommended it to my sister.  She read it, loved it, and we recommended it to my mom who said “no thank you.”  My parents, the traditionally religious Jamaican Christians, just didn’t want to imagine God as anything other than the Big Man in a Big White Robe…. o.k. to each his own.

Sis and I went to see the movie this past Saturday (in my mismatched flipflops as captured in my “Mom Chronicles”) and I was glad that it stuck to how the book read.

GOD: portrayed as a very motherly, comforting black woman -then later a humble, yet strong, Native American man.

Jesus: is actually portrayed as middle-eastern.  Handsome, with dark, curly hair and beard, and this warm welcoming ….thing about him.  and playful. hardworking and playful.

The Holy Spirit: portrayed by a beautiful Native American woman. she glows. she’s emotional and comforting (as should be)

Now, I’m no movie critic so you don’t have to take my word for it. However, I do recommend it. There are a LOT of controversies going on regarding it, but I don’t pay attention to that.  Anything that shakes traditional beliefs is worth listening to or watching. It doesn’t answer all your “..but God, why??…” questions, but it does allow you to think differently.  So, if/when you get a chance, go see it (check and make sure your shoes match :D).  I believe you’ll enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

